How Uganda Cranes Outclassed Tanzania’s Taifa Stars

Two goals from SC Villa young Star Erisa Sekisambu and a Farouk Miya penalty kick in the Stopping time gave the Cranes a 3 goal advantage in the opening leg of the 2016 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier played under floodlights on Saturday

electric-samataThe Uganda Cup MVP (Sekisambu) put the Cranes in the lead by netting a rebound after goal keeper Deogratius Munishi saving Robert Sentongo’s initial attempt. However Tanzania enjoyed a better ball possession especially in the midfield, the first half ended 0-1 for the visitors.

As the Taifa Stars were struggling to find an equalizer, Sekisambu netted the second goal in the 63rd minute after finding a through pass from midfield Miya Farouk who placed passed the goal keeper.

Tanzania’s only close scoring chance came from Salim Mbonde who headed from a corner kick that hit the upright thanks to the Uganda defense commanded by Captain Hassan Wasswa  that gave them no chance to trouble youthful goal keeper James Alitho.

In the Stoppage time the centre referrer Hudu Munyeme awarded Cranes a penalty for a foul committed on substitute Frank Kalanda that Farouk Miya Scored to added the number to 3goals.

Micho made some changes when he replaced John Ssemazzi with Yasser Mugerwa in the 56th minute, Frank Kalanda came in for Robert Sentongo in the 68th minute and Keziron Kizito for Erisa Sekisambu in 81st minute.

Uganda will host the return leg on 4th of July 2015 where the winner on aggregregates will play Sudan to determine who qualifies for the 2016 finals to be held in Rwanda.

Uganda Started with James Alitho -GK , Dennis Okoth , Brian Ochwo , Hassan Waswa , Shafiq Bakaki (Defenders) , Derick Tekkwo , Muzamil Mutyaba , Erisa Sekisambu , Farouk Miya (Midfielders) and John Semazzi , Robert Sentongo as strikers.


Brian Bwete-GK , Deus Bukenya , Keziron Kizito , Yasser Mugerwa , Martin Kizza , Frank Kalanda , Fahad Muhammed .

Tanzania Taifa started with  Deogratius Munishi-GK, Nadir Haroub Ali, Shomali Kapombe, Edward Erasto, Salim Mbonde (Defenders), -Jonasi Mukude , Abdi Hassan Banda, Frank Domayo (Midfielders), Amir Kyemba, Kevin Friday and Simon Musuva as Strikers.

Ali Mwadini, Hassan Isihaka, Hajji Mwinyi, Said Juma, Hassan Dirunga, Rashid Mandawa, John Bokko

Related Articles


Uganda Cranes Part Ways With Head Coach Micho Following AFCON Disappointment

In a significant development, the head coach of the Uganda Cranes, Mr....


Sports Gurus Andrew Kabuura And Brian Tuka Quit NBS Sport This Morning

Prominent sports enthusiasts and media figures Andrew Kabuura and Brian Tuka have...


Victor Kiplagat Wins Another Gold For Uganda

Uganda has bagged another gold medal from the World Athletics Championship in...


Second Edition Of Mt Rwenzori Marathon Gains Momentum

According to the latest update from the organisers, preparations for the highly...